The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries wrote a recommendation to president about productivity of the employees. According to him the employees use internet at workstation for their own personal or recreational activities such as shopping or playing games and due to this behavior the productivity decreases. There are two major assumptions made by vice president which are impractical, one of them is the productivity decreases because of internet usage for personal purpose and second is if internet usage is the reason for less productivity than monitoring their computers will increase the productivity. However, he has failed to provide many hard facts which really fortifies his argument; due to this reason, his assumptions, and finally derived conclusion are utterly skeptical.

Additionally, without doing any research or survey we cannot identify the reason behind the problem. In the given argument the writer wrongly assumed that decrease in productivity of the employee because of online shopping and playing games. the writer didn't provide any data related to his conclusion and directly put solution for assumed problem. These is major weakness of the writer which should be considered by company president before implementing the suggested solution.

However, the employees use internet for their personal work then there are so many different factors comes to my mind. One of them is may the employees don't have time to pay rents, electricity bills etc. and they do such important work at office. secondly the working hours may long which are not enough to complete household activities. Thirdly, working environment of the workstation is boring and make lethargic so they engage themselves in online gaming and shopping. fourth, the administration of the company is very weak and they don't pay attention on employees which give freedom to employees for internet excess for their own choices.

Furthermore, the vice present talked about monitoring of computers and punished if they found doing their personal work. But that is not correct way to increase the productivity, it may convert the atmosphere in authoritative one. To convert least control atmosphere to strong control build threats in the employees and it may spoil a reputation of the company. The company should analyses the reasons and then find perfect solution to rise productivity with high quality.

Finally, the argument, made by the vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries, needs extra hard facts to consider it as reliable. He should not try to avoid concerns raised above for a robust argument about productivity enhancement of his company. However, at the present status of the argument, it is not beyond dispute, and likely to get no dice from the concerned high-ranking officials who are going to scrutinize this proposal.