An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Being ill is one of the most depressing thing altogether since, person might have to spend maximum time on bed doing nothing.This could altogether trigger quite thoughts in the patients mind, such as whether i would be able to make it?Is this doctor good enough?An Ailing Patient if given an easy access to his or her doctor's record regarding similarly afflicted patients could in fact do more harm than good to the patient.

The doctor's record could cite deaths of the patients who had suffered similar disease,this would not only demotivate the patient but also cause her to worry more.Having such kind of record could damage a doctor's reputation and the doctor's caliber would be doubted.Patients with similar afflicted ailments could have other issues as well such as a diabetes patient who died because of excess sugar but he was admitted for the treatment of malaria at the same time in the hospital.However, the record might state that the patient died while he was having his treatment of malaria through a doctor.Such a fact would undermine doctor's caliber and another patient with malaria would think twice before going to the same doctor for curing his ailment.

Also,if a patient did not follow the course of medical treatment as instructed by the doctor and died,it would just be on the record that the patient death occurred while having his treatment from the doctor.This would be the patient's fault as he did not follow the course of medicine but the record might not state this.For instance,as it happens in the case of antibiotics is that if a course is not pursued completely, the virus develops a resistance towards the same antibiotic in the future and hence it would have no effect when the same antibiotic is taken in the future.

On the other hand,if there is good record showing that the doctor almost had cured every other person for the similar afflicted disease, this would boost the confidence of the patient and cause her to trust the doctor more.A good record would speak for itself and even if the patient had a disease which is difficult to cure, he would not worry if he sees that the doctor has cured similar cases.This would lead to motivated patients who would believe that they can make it.

A doctor's record can have a positive influence on the patient if it states that doctor has cured similar cases.On the contrary, it can make patient doubt the doctor's caliber and patient might feel demotivated and give up if she sees that the record states similar cases leading to death.Such a system would be a bane to the society and would do more harm than good.