The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

An effective leadership requires considering feedback from the people being led. I'm a staunch supporter of this belief. If a leader seldom considers the opinions of his/her constituents, then it would certainly give rise to internal dissension. People would soon desert the cause or worse, they could hatch a coupe. All of the above would also certainly hurt the cause for which they are arduously working.

History has taught us how oppression by rulers led to the fall of their kingdoms. This was primarily due to the ruler's indifference towards the pleas of those he led. When a person is obdurate in changing their ways, which may be pernicious to the goals they want to achieve a, even his most staunch supporters would turn against him.

A great example for this is Steve Jobs, although a great visionary, his complete disregard for the employees' needs served as the primary reason for him being ousted from the very company he created. The shareholders of Apple, who were once Steve's friends, hatched a coup to remove him from the position of CEO for the well being of the company.

As the phrase "Too many cooks spoil the broth" suggests, sometimes it is okay for a leader to enforce their opinions for the welfare of their cause. But, such situations arise only if the people they are leading are inexperienced and have a limited amount of knowledge concerning the work that needs to be done. Even after this, it is still better for the leader to at least listen to the opinions of his followers and help shape those opinions as well. Such encouragement would increase the subordinates self-esteem and willingness to take initiative.

If a leader listens to the pleas of his pupil, considers them as a valid opinion and changes his plans accordingly, then both his regime as well as the people's support for him will be benefited. Hence, only then would his leadership be effective.