Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

The statement contends that understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership. While, some say it is futile to dwell on the past, nevertheless, the mistakes in our past always help us learn what not to do. Therefore,

the statement presented by the author is invalid and can be criticised through its various fallacies.

Primarily, no human ,let alone a leader, has ever perfected any task on their first try. Mastery can only be acheived through practice. In other words, gaining mastery over leadership has to be acheived through experience. For example, Microsoft considered work in hardware, as a trivial endeavor. Hence, never putting much work into it, therefore making it subpar to Apple products. Only when they saw the meteoric rise of Apple and how people started to no longer consider Microsoft at the vanguard of technological breakthroughs, did Microsoft start to consider hardware innovation seriously. This resulted in the introduction of Surface Book laptops which are now considered to be among the best, and also bring in great revenue for Microsoft

Secondly, It's not only our own past but the past of other leaders that can help leadership to improve.For example, Martin Luther King Jr. was greatly inspired by Mahatma Gandhi's tactics to secure India's freedom, like Gandhi's philosophy of non-violence. Martin used these tactics to his advantage and was successfull in securing rights for african americans in U.S.A.

However, sometime past is of no use to leadership as well. In other words, there are many situations where the tactics used in the past cannot be applied today. For example, Monarchy was prevalent in historic times because it was more convenient then to control to population as it was small in comparison to today's world. Now democracy and other forms of government are prevalent simply to accmodate for variety of opinions.

Conclusively, we can say that learning from the past is cardinal for acquiring good leadership skills.