The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author's claim cites that the best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint. To support his claim there are many example which shows agreement to this claim. However, there are many theories get destroy by opposing viewpoint of critics and also decrease confident level of a person who makes an argument. Although, I support author's point of view regarding to check argument's strength.

First of all, to support this claim I give one phenomena which completely support author's claim. If the critics oppose argument with an opposing viewpoint, it can be concluded how much knowledge of a person who makes argument regarding his assertion? Because of this, public can get deep knowledge of particular topic and this further increase their knowledge about that topic. Furthermore, it also clarifies doubts of critics or who has opposing viewpoint. So, opposing viewpoint to any argument is necessary part of argument.

In addition to that, we can also say that because of this one person can also encounter future consequences for his argument. He also comes to know loopholes in his argument. So, he can remove this loopholes and present most established argument which has no further opposing viewpoint. Hence, the person who makes argument become confident and never again feel diffident to make arguments. So, to improve a person's confidence opposing viewpoint is essential thing.

Although, it has various benefits, it also have some demerits. Like, sometimes due to opposite viewpoint, some people feel diffident and think they are nothing more than failure. So, some people are not trying to do things that they formally do at primary level. They offen feel useless and refuse to improve or to make arguments. Though, opposing viewpoint is important to familier a person with his mistakes. In some kind of competitions it is necessary to make true comment about their performance. So, competitors should not loose confident and try their best to improve their mistakes.

In conclusion , I just want to cite that opposing viewpoint of any argument is essential part which cannot be removed from that. It is important for a person to take it in a positive way. In addition,he does not fell diffident and try their the best to make their arguments errorfree. Critics also consider their argument's effect on a person whom they are opposing. Because of this, it will helpful to make errorfree argument and no further mistakes in that.