The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.
The statement claims that best test of an argument is the ability to convince someone with opposing viewpoint. The argument correctly states that arguments
ability is tested correctly tested by convincing someone with different viewpoint but statement makes someone unwaranted assumptions regarding the convincing
as people are to stubborn to accept their defeat even if total valid points are made against their arguments thus in some cases above statement does not hold true.
Firstly, the statement rightly claims that argument should be able to change someone's viewpoint otherwise it is not a strong argument. In politics while passing
of bills in Parliament requires a orators convincing or persuations skills in order to convert other parties opposing viewpoint to their favour for the
bill. if the opposing party refuses to agree which means that the party is not able to convince the other party and as a result fails to narrate their
argument in proper flow. thus a argument capacity is measured on the basis of its convincing power.
Secondly, In recent UN meeting regarding declaring A notorious criminal as a global terrorist fetched inputs from various countries and viewpoints of
various countries conflicted. Therefore convincing power becomes of immense value in such circumstances where one country has to convince others of the
their viewpoints.
arguments are of no use if they do not serve their primary purpose of conciving people as arguments are stances against the orginal idea. they
serve to inform and find flaws on a subject but if they fail to do so the meaning of argument falls apart. arguments in a debate shows between
delegates helps in making understanding the views of political parties also they make people aware of recent events and helps in figuring out the
flaws of particular policy given by a certain party. they also help in making amendments to that policy after receiving criticism from opposing
parties and people.
Though convincing power is the primary measure of arguments ability does not always be the case. In consider a stubborn person who on whatever the arguments
presented will not be convinced this does not means that the argument was weak rather means person is intentionally rejecting the other person's plead and
In recent light of events President Donald Trump tried to make sound arguments regarding the construction of wall on southern boundary while he tried to
give valid facts it was the resistance of opposing party to take a stance against him and listening him out. Hence cannot be consider as a measure of judging arguments validity.
In conclusion it is true that the convincing power is an essential in judging the arguments' ability but does always holds true because of
human nature to resist being wrong and denying correct facts. thus convincing power is being able to test correctly a argument's ability to
great extent but not the ideal measure of testing arguments.