The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the
recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and
supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the
recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples
shape your position.
I absolutely agree with the first section of the statement above, but find fault with the
latter half.
There is no doubt that praising positive actions is an excellent way to teach, and this
method is most clearly exemplified when dealing with much younger children. When
a young child is learning basic social behavior, it is imperative that he is encouraged
to repeat positive actions. For example, when a child voluntarily shares his toys with
another, if a teacher rewards that behavior, the child will understand that this is a good
practice, and likely share again in the future.
In contrast, if a child displays negative behavior by stealing a toy away from his
playmate, it would be very dangerous for the teacher to ignore this action, for then the
child may never recognize that this is unacceptable. In this instance, the child has not learned from the situation at all. So what should a teacher do when faced with such
a situation? Punishment is not necessarily the optimal choice, either. Rather than
scolding a child for mistreating his playmates and sending him off to a corner, a
teacher would be wise to demonstrate the positive alternative: to share his toys
instead. In this case, rather than ignoring or punishing negative actions, the teacher
could seize the opportunity to reinforce positive behavior, and further extend the child’s
learning experience.
In summary, positive reinforcement is certainly an excellent method for teaching
new methods or behaviors, and encouraging a student to learn more. However to
ignore, rather than recognize and correct negative actions, would be a disservice to
the student, for he would not know what conclusion to draw from his action.