Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

New people surely provide new opportunities, but there is not guarantee whether they would be able to maintain a healthy relationship with public or consumers.

History clearly opposes the stance of the claim. Steve Jobs, for example was asked to step down as the CEO of Apple. John Sculley, the new guy with a business mindset was appointed. Soon the profits of the company started to fall. Steve Jobs was called again in a desperate fashion to restore the value of apple. Four years after that Apple became one of the most profitable company in the world. This clearly states that although new power bodies might bring something extra to the table, they cannot replace the people who are running the organization successfully. Now, John sculley might have done well if he was given more liberty, but huge organizations like Apple do not allow mistakes. Steve Jobs had the employee confidence and knew exactly the kind of product they needed. By working with the team, and understanding them he created history.

Now, In Indian politics The indian national congress(INC) party was pretty dominant until the era Rahul Gandhi began. Sonia Gandhi, one of the most influential politician had the ability to communicate very effectively. On the other hand INC party was led by Rahul Gandhi, people started mocking him because he did not have the ability to be persuasive and communicative. The outcome was that other party BJP enjoyed the reliability and support of the indian public. Therefore, there is no surety of getting success. Sometimes organizations are in power because of the very person, that the claim addresses to step down.

Even in education, universities or schools remain reverent only if the Dean can manage the functioning of the school properly. For example the dean of my school was a really respected and knowledgeable person and our school resurged its position in the elite, but when he resigned , the new dean was caught in scandal which ultimately reduced the respect that people used to have for our school.

Surely addition of new people would increase the chances of success , But it is definitely not the only possible way to ensure success.