Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Do those in power should step down after five years in any field like business, politics, education, government and more? The speaker claims so, for the reason that revitalization through new leadership is the only path to success of any enterprise. The reason may be a valid one but not the surest path or the only path to revitalization of any field. The author's reason for the claim is too extreme. So, I do not agree with the claim made by the author and the reasons can well explained by illustrating some examples.

In politics or the government if those in power should step down after tenure of five years, all the works that are started by the government that is in power till date may not be completed in the tenure of five years. The new government may or may not approve the works started by the ex-government which may not be beneficial to the society.

In business sectors if the CEO of the company is to be changed after every five years of service it may not be beneficial to the organization. This is because, the plans executed by the ex-CEO may not be similar with new CEO's ideas so he may discontinue the work. Even though the new CEO is happy with the plan proposed by the ex-CEO, he may not know what exactly the plan is and takes a lot of time to understand and continue the work.

It is obvious that the success of any field needs to be fueled by the new ideas but it does not actually mean to change the leadership for new ideas. New team members can be added to the leading team.

In conclusion, the success for any field is only through new leaderships that should come into power for every five years.