Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Growing up an organization is not an easy task nowadays as everything has changed quite fast, especially those who relate to technology. Therefore, the leaders’ roles become crucial than ever. Their working principle and decisions make huge effects on the survival of organizations. That poses an important question about how we could recruit great leaders. One thinks that changing leaders after every five years will make sure revitalizing for organizations. However, I can only agree with this claim to an extent due to disparity characteristics of organizations.

Admittedly, new leadership will bring a new wind to an organization as different people have different ways to thinking and running. And it really decides the success or failure of a company. Take for instance, after Steve Job left Apple, the company went down dramatically. Nonetheless, when he again took over, this was the best innovative time for Apple.

Nonetheless, changing leadership in all organization in every five does not mean it will carry the same outcome. I think the fact lie on the characteristics and the period of organization for example in education. If a state desires to expand its public education by implementing a new state university, they would need a solid leader for the first period, and it is an easy question to answer about how long it takes the principle to settle down the new university. In this case, how to settle down the university should be more concerned than how to implement the 5-year-cycle.

Similar to the government, there are reasons why US presidents have usually gone for 2 terms which are 8 years instead of just 4 or 5. The first four just suffices to get to know the environment and the practices of the government, the later 4 years is the real-time to fully implement his strategies.

In sum, perhaps the argument should be changed as depending on the characteristics and periods of an organization that five-year-cycles should be implemented to maximize revitalization through leadership.