Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The author claims that the best way to test an argument is that you convince opponents. However, others have the opposite view. As far as I am concerned, the last point carries more weight. It would be better to consider this issue with different opponents.

First at all, some people never accept your idea, and it is not related what you provide as reasons. In fact, your idea can put their profits on the line. I think that a small example can give some light to this topic. In the election debates, a candidate can not accept his rival’s comments, because he knows that this work can decrease his votes, and he would lose the competition. So, sometime opponents’ interest is the main impede that they think your idea.

Second, some people can not accept different idea that it is not according to their beliefs. In deed, you never can convince a person, who has strong religious background, when your opinion is different of what he thinks. Imagine you want to convince a Muslim that a homosexual is not culprit by medical scientist reasons, while he never can accept your idea because it is unlike their faith. Muslims believe that all things in their holly book—Quran—are right for ever, and this book god has forbidden homosexuals.

In contrary, with you dispute with other people, they can gain deeper understanding of your idea. Therefore, convincing others lead to you sure your opinion is right. I think that there is not better example of a teacher of theoretical physics. In scientific environment, the logic is the main factor can confirm or violate a idea. This teacher can confirm his theory, if he could provide logical reasons and convince other teachers in this field of study.

All above evidence support this undeniable that convincing opponent can not always be the best way for testing a idea. Nevertheless, in some environment like university, it can be true that you able test your argument by convincing others.