Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

I agree with that fact that the best test of an argument is ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.As there are large number of theories given by scientists but their were some points which do not go with the motion and a new theory comes due to opposing viewpoints like Thomson plump pudding model was replaced by the Bohr's model as it was a more updated version and he told that electron moves in a orbit and has 2n^2 electron in each shell where n is number of shells like in 1st shell it will be 2 electrons and so on .for example in BC people and scientist at that time believed that earth is a plate like structure but Galileo opposed the notion and put his new theory that earth is round.

government make large number of rules for the citizens which accepted by a certain section of society but abhored by other section which keep their suggestions .For example reservation in India are made by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru which enjoyed by scheduled tribe,schedule caste people but the general category one has contrasting viewpoint that they are not benefited by these rules.For example the abrogation of article 370 from kashmir has made kashmir a part of india and all the restrictions made on the kashmiri origin people were removed and only the congress party was opposing it because they thought it would lead to riots and agression between hindu and muslims.

As there was a large amount of corruption made in India 2014 scams and scandals were in abundance then a social leader Anna Hazare and arvind kejriwal put pressure on the government to implement a bill called a Lokpal in parliament but it had some opposing factors like the team of lokpal did not have equal members of each political party.

So I conclude by saying that the best test of an argument is ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint because it will lead to a better result.