Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim suggested that Colleges should give specification on each subject of the course and abate elective subjects in order to provide clear guidance for students.And reason behind this is because individuals follow foot steps as per order rather than taking their own decisions. In my openion, it is necessary to permit students to choose their path according to their goals inspite of bordonsome them with fixed criteria during acedmics.

Clear guidence means to make one aware about what is good or bad for there future related to the choice. Therefore, universities specify all required courses to give push to carrier and imeded feeling of enthusiasm. In contrast, elective courses ought to be hinder. Since, students sometimes have little intrest and universities while making rigid decision give more pressure on students to forcefully learn those. In acedamics each have there own desired path to walk on.So, the decision must be taken by the person who actually put efforts in making all desires true.

On the other hand, It may have some negative impacts as well. There may be a chances that student unable to decide their choice of course make mistake by taking wrong choice and later realized when it can not be change.Where as, when one limited by some already taken decisions it later can help in forthcoming future. To exemplify, in early times of graduation in indian colleges student forced to learn all subjects from different field to bring their interest out untill next 6 months. It is appreciable and benefited student in all way.Althogh sometimes it create hurdles in minds where they have to invest time and efforts which is according to students are unnecessary.

However, propose changes such as introducing carrier councilors at each college or university will be brilliant idea where experienced tutors help students in taking carrier choices.Then, student get clear idea of does and don't. Recently, In india this proposed change has created dramatically change by giving carrier councilor to students .THis eliminate hesitation and anxiety of student before taking any decisions.There purpose is to sort out student confusion and let them feel more confident about there taken choice. Which ultimately ended up student wasting time in taking decisions and give clear thought.