Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Human beings are nurtured by their elders and inherit some of their capabilities. Recent days parents support their children to pursue their dreams, however still few places and traditions does not accept that and believe it's going against their conventions and customs for example inherited work culture like making swords, pottery, agriculture/farming and breeding livestock. All these trivial aspects also hinder young from dreaming. As A.P.J Abdul Kalam stated "Dream your goals, strive for it until you attain it", young minds should dream their goals and move forward. People who possess a dream, is not selfish about their goals. Rights which they got to dream should not be snatched away or mislead by the elders. As the statement says emphasis should be given on the goals, but picking worthy one or not is skeptical. What really means worthy goal here, every goal in a child's heart is worth enough. Every goal has a nature to bring the child in an effective way in the society if he/she is properly guided.

Certain factors and example can be noted here, Sachin Tendulkar who is middle class boy, had goals of becoming a cricket player. But what if he lost or stopped trying to be a cricket, is there a possibility for us mention that as a unworthy goal, since he failed in it. Society names the goal of people to be unworthy if they fail. However people who have attained pinnacle in their career like Mark Zuckerberg, Steve Jobs, Bill Gates all came from a normal background whose goals and iterations were incessant. Failure or success, society cannot gauge an individuals performance and criticise their goals where unworthy. But a well wisher or their parents should never criticise for their failure. They should give them a chance to come up and give a further try to achieve it.

Individuals goals cannot be nominated as inherently selfish, it has its own virtues, strength, beliefs and order to attain its destiny. When a student work for his/her exam to become a rank holder is a competition among others. This is were healthy competition lies among us, during schools people get this intrinsic character. If such traits are questioned has selfish behaviour then it turns our whole system to be inane and worthless. An individual's dreams start from their school from getting good grades, identifying their field of interest, exploring their possibilities, coming up with a goal to achieve it. All these activities shows an individuals persistence and his/her perseverance.

In conclusion, inherent qualities which we have nurtured and developed cannot be questioned as selfishness. Emphasis for goals should be given considered significant during early stages for young children. Society should not consider a goal to be worthy or unworthy, it is an individuals decision, while society should lead them properly and guide them when needed.