Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The author asserts that the major cities should receive financial support in order to preserve the cultural traditions. It is true that preserving the cultural traditions is very important in maintaining the harmony of nation. However I do not agree with the authors claim on the below grounds.

Firstly, I feel that the cost to maintain the cultural traditions in the villages or rural areas will be less expensive than to maintain it in the cities. For example, consider an old temple in a city in reference to a temple in the village. The worker costs to maintain the temple in the city will be far more than the temples in the villages. As in the metropolitan areas where many people visit the site, it also increases the maintenance and the security costs associated with it.

Secondly, the major cities should focus its attention on the development factors such as Education, Health, Infrastructure and the cultural aspects should be left to the people. For example, consider the city of Mumbai, there is a huge cultural difference between Mumbai and rest of the cities. The social life in Mumbai is compared to other developed cities like New York, London, Paris. In such metropolitan cities cultural aspects are less observed even if the government spends the money in maintaining the cultural aspects. So instead, the government should spend money for development aspects in that region.

Finally, there is a chance that the cultural aspects fade away gradually in the cities, but in most cases the integrity of these traditions are maintained in the villages. For example, in cities popular music concerts can easily replace the Shakespear’s poetry.

However, majority of the people experience the cultural aspects of the nation into big major cities as the majority of the

people visit the cities rather than the rural parts. Hence it becomes necessary to maintain these sites.

To sum up, to preserve the cultural traditions is very important factor for any nation. However there shouldn’t be any difference in villages or cities in order maintain the culture and tradition.