Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The prompt claims that government should provide extra funds to its major cities as cities preserver and generates the country's cultural traditions. True, the culture of a nation is very important in generating harmony and keeping its people in cohesion. However, I mostly don't agree with the claim on three grounds.

To begin with, the authors claim that major cities are the one that preserves culture would have been true some 100 years ago. But, nowadays with the ease of transportation, booming globalization and countries promoting tourism major cities have become cosmopolitan, to say the least. For instance, Paris the capital of France is also known as the fashion capital of the world as it is home to some of the biggest fashion companies. Aspiring fashion designers or models from all around the world move to Paris in the hope that the can make it into the industry. Because of this reason, Paris is home to people of different ethnicity and different culture which is good when we talk about diversity but, not as much when preserving traditions is concerned.

Furthermore, a person visiting a country cannot appreciate its endemic culture as much as he would if he visits nearby smaller cities or villages. Major cities in their race to become global elites and somewhat lost their origin. For instance, New Delhi other than being the capital of India is also an attractive destination for foreigners. But other than how populated India is as a country you cannot comprehend Indian culture from Delhi. Whereas if the same foreigner is to visit a small city or town as in Varanasi. He would be able to witness Indian culture up close. Those are the areas that are still untouched and can certainly reflect aboriginal culture.

Moreover, the government already have limited resources and they should focus that on other core issues such as education, health, employment, etc and leave the matter of cultural preservation in the hand of its citizens and masses. People themselves will become interested in preserving their culture ones they are free from its core exigencies. For instance, if a country starts investing more money in renovating monuments at the expense of job security people will start looking for other option and will start moving to other countries which will only affect governments primary objective of preserving traditions as it is through people traditions are preserved and not through man-made monuments.

In conclusion, a government should do everything in its power of preserve traditions but not at the expense of its citizen's comfort and when trying to preserve culture, smaller cities might be a better option to look at.