Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim presented here is that governments need to financially support major cities in order to preserve them. The reasoning behind this belief is that cities uphold a nation's cultural tradition. The logic of this reason is not sound because rural, suburban and uninhabited areas are also important when trying to preserve a nation's culture.

In rural areas many cultural traditions can be found. For example, in American much of the western culture is upheld in these areas. The traditional farming techniques, the traditional family farm, and even country music is generated in these areas. Cites in American do not have the same "country" culture that the rural areas do. If they are not given the support they need this aspect of culture will be lost.

Moreover , the suburbs, in addition, play an important role in a nations culture as well. For example, American suburbs are often thought of as the model of what stereotypical life is like in the United States. The image of a white picket fence and the family with two children and a dog comes to mind. This image from the suburbs is an important part of what culture is in American one many have fought to preserve.

In conclusion, even uninhabited areas play a role in a nations culture. For example, not many people live in the bitter and harsh landscape of Alaska. There are miles and miles and unoccupied land. This empty land plays a big role in the culture of this area. It forms the way of life and influences the people who live in this area. This can also be seen in desert and areas and places with dense forests.

It can be argued that because cities have the most people they are most important to preserving a nations culture. This logic is flawed because even though many people live in these areas they do not uphold traditional culture . Cities are know for creating new and popular culture. Typically they are more progressive and push the boundaries of society to new levels. For example, the recent marches for the progression of our society have taken place in major cites. The march for our lives, the women’s march, the march for science are just a few that have taken place.

A nation's culture should be preserved by supporting the rural, suburban, uninhabited and the cities of a nation. By simply focusing on cities many of a nations traditions would be lost . Financial support must go to all a nations areas in order to ensure the survival of culture.