Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

The claim suggests that cities are the primary places where a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated, so in order for the nation to succeed, governments must make sure that major cities receive the financial support needed because of the cultural necessity. Due to the characteristics and the population of cities, they are not as effective as small towns and villages when preserving and generating cultural traditions. Cities should be ensured with government funding, which however not primarily due to its cultural function. I therefore tend not to agree with the claim and the reason.

Cultural traditions are generated and preserved by people. In general, the population in cities is only a small percentage. They therefore are not the primary means of preserving cultural traditions. Take China for an instance. The city population only takes up approximate ten percent, and the rest lives in towns and villages. Considering traditions are passed on and created by citizens, towns and villages are the prominent sources of reserving the nations’ cultures. Though the allocation of the population may vary in different countries; still, including many developed countries, people who live in places rather than cities consist of the majority of the population. Hence, it is not primarily in cities that a nations’ cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

In addition, one of the common characters of cities determines that cities are not reliable for preserving cultural traditions. Compared to Beijing, clearly Tanfang, a small town, is more likely to help preserve traditions. Due to the economic development and globalization, many foreign people come in cities and established their business branches there. As a result, people who bring with foreign traditions with them work and live here in cities of other nations. While exposed to and communicating with other exotic cultures, the local traditions will inevitably be influenced. By contrast, small towns are relative isolated and therefore more effectively in preserving the nations' cultures.

However, this is not to deny the importance of cities. They bear economic and political significance. Strong cities are critical in supporting the whole nation. Governments need to make sure their cities receive enough financial support so as to thrive. However, preserving cultural traditions is not the reason. For example, Hong Kong was governed for about a century by British colony. It is not helping preserve many traditioans; nonetheless, Chinese government makes sure it stays prosperous because of its economic significance. The claim in itself is reasonable, but the reason which is based on makes the statement as a whole flawed.

In conclusion, cities are undoubtedly important in all ways; however, in preserving and generating cultural traditions, they are not the primary way, which subsequently explains that cultural function is not the main reason for governments to ensure the cities’ prosperity.