Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

The issue states that the critical judgment of work in any field has little or no value if it is not presented by a person knowledge or is a expert of the field. The statement correctly captures the importance of insights or knowledge of a person in making judgments about any works. The knowledge of a person helps in identifying subtle distinction in any field or work. The literary critics of well known arts are far more aware of finding the foible in a art work but for that they need to have strong understanding of the art work.

In the field of sports, There are pundits who are vocal critics of the performance of a team they judge each and every move of the teams and time and time question the ability of coach and the players' decision making. In football, specially the pundits starts analyzing the various strategy adopted by the coach, look at the current scenario and also the efficiency of outcomes. But for that pundits must be aware of the game and should have had first hand experience of the game. Then and then there comments are considered to be valid. Someone not watching or following the game cannot make comments on the strategy. there comments would be considered trivial.

Also, In the fields of arts where art appraisal judge the painting and then pass reviews of the painting also needs to have insights of the painting. Knowledge about what the artist wants to express. They should be able to understand the expressions of the artist similarly when book reviewers read the book for review they should be able to get feeling of what the authors wants to pass through the book. They should be able to relate to the book. Otherwise the review of the book would result in a pretentious result not providing the true meaning and the credentials of the critic would drop.

Though the statement truly states that the author's insights are need for making a judgement, Sometimes even having insights and knowledge the critics fails to sound judgement ,Sometimes there knowledge betrays them they often do not understand the work and then pass fallacious judgement. Thus it is absolutely necessary to have insights and knowledge it does not guarantee it passing tenable judgement. Also someone from outside may try to find the flaws in works and may do so efficiently. Companies assign other companies to find the flaws in their company even though the other company is not related to their field or domain. These other hired companies perform black box testing in which they check the performance of the companies various aspects which is quite similar in each companies rather than focusing on the specific fields of that company. They do that successfully without having insights of the company.

Finally, In conclusion the issue correctly identify the need to have background knowledge and a depth knowledge of the field in order to pass a judicious judgement. Still it does not guarantee the of passing of always a sound judgement. Knowledge as well as discern is required in order to make a critical judgement.