Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The role of education institute should not be about directing them to subjects which fetch them good salary. That denies education of its multiple potentials.

In the modern world education has been perceived as an emancipator. Education and knowledge, as conceptualized by feminist or anti-race movements, has the potential to liberate people off miseries.Several educators have put their weight to argue the role of education to emancipate people from the feudal and inhuman mindset. So if the education institute motivate student to pursue subjects that fetch better salary then these institute violate the very basis of education. They fail to provide the ethical and moral values required to make a just world. A computer engineer can have a job with god salary but will create automated weapon for war without any qualms. Do we teach our promise our children a world like that? Then how can we demand for a education system so one dimensional in its outlook?

Moreover, by actively encouraging student for lucrative jobs the institute are sacrificing on the human ability to innovate. If Einstein or Bill Gates were thinking of lucrative jobs then we may not be having modern physics or the computer we are typing on. obviously not all are innovators, so why not education institute serve the general mass of student- this can well be the argument. yes this can well be the case but then we are denying students the opportunity to leave their own mark in history.

The potential of education lies in its ability to push boundary and not by teaching conformity.Conformity is what we inculcate through our lifetime but a novel of Kafka or Beckett provokes us to tear off these chains and explore the human potential.this practice can hardly be sustained if we are just pacing behind salary. A Kafka or Beckett can provide a lot of ecstasy, can teach us empathy and can relieve us of these tensions encountered in this competitive world.

The major counter argument is that in order to achieve other ecstasy we may remain lost in the whirl of education system. while the student could potentially serve as better asset for society if he/she had a better job and then one can enjoy a Kafka or a Beckett. In reality this has hardly happened as once you start working it consumes most of our time, we are hardly in condition to explore something new. moreover youth are receptive to new ideas that adults are. So the world we will create would be pragmatic but will lack emotion and human connect.

The role of education institute should been to nurture diverse though and create multiple opportunities, not to limit the imagination.