Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A society comprises of people belonging to diverse community, caste, creed, culture, language, etc. To avoid conflicts, a unique rule is been laid and the individuals expected to abide by them. Thus, a government government was created which is for, of and by the people. Many heed to the laws enforced and others protest.

In olden days, Indians practised Sati, that is, a wife has to throw herself in the burning ritual of her dead husband. similarly, dowry was given to the bride by her father. but, as days progressed, in-laws tortured the girl's family by demanding more. We can see that till the end of the 20 th century, atrocities against women were more prevalent. To set women free from the social evils, laws were framed for their own safety. this has led to young girls being independent and safe. Also, capital punishment served as a menace. By framing laws, these types of injustice were put a full stop.

There is no law called as just or in just. it is in the minds of people who look at it. For example, wearing helmet was made compulsory by the government. Some men who preferred safety was happy with that law. girls on the other hand took it as an issue against their fashion. similarly not wearing seatbelt and drunken driving are the major issues faced by the government. young lads are not in the position to heed to those requirements. Their parents money and freedom to do whatever they like have made them blind to the just laws.

Few more examples include the increase in GST tax issues and the hike in petrol and diesel prices. The government of a nation, when it runs short of revenues, collects money from the citizens in the form of taxes. other ways could include raising the price of commodities. this becomes a hardship to common middle class man, whose income remains meagre. His salary remains the same whereas his expenditure keeps on increasing manifold times. At these instances, the laws seem like an unjust law for him.

Recently in tamilnadu, government banned jallikattu, an age-old traditional sport. At that time, people came forward to show their protest in a non violent means. they gathered in the marina beach, lit candles and showed that they want to take their traditional values to posterity. Immediately, the government of tamilnadu withdrew the law imposed.

In conclusion, it can be said that, it is the duty of the government to impose laws on their citizens. To abide by them, is people's responsibility. but, if they feel that, the law imposed is unjust, they can always voice their opinions. it will be better if that protest is done in the non violent way that that " style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-size: 19.36px; white-space: pre-wrap; background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255);">Mahathma Gandhi of india set as an example to get india' independence.