Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

It is debatable whether conventional education have a propensity to limit the scope of our minds and spirits rather than expanding the scope. I disagree with the statement that formal education works as a restraint because of several reasons.

To begin with, there are more rooms for development and options are expanded through receiving formal education. Conventional education aid learners in setting a solid learning foundation. Such process is crucial because setting a solid foundation enables people to build upon it and escape out of one's comfort zone. Take Alfred Adler, a prominent psychologist and psychiatrist, as an example. He was born under a shoemaker father, and it seemed like Adler also was destined to become a shoemaker in the future. However, formal learning setting gave him opportunities to learn basis knowledge of the world and gradually expanded his scope of world through indoctrination of different subjects. He later became a mental doctor and an inspiring figure in Psychology until nowadays with his personality and inferiority theories. Had he not have privilege to receive formal education, his mind would have had only one option-becoming a shoemaker like his father. But because he when to conventional school, he was given more freedom and limitless choices regarding his future career.

Morever, formal education frees people's minds and spirits by enabling people to express their opinions and consolidate their own thoughts. Education teaches us an ability to effectively gather and articulate our thoughts. Such practice builds people a capacity to think uniquely and actively. Most of the colonizing nations like Germany and Japan set rigid limits on formal education because they acknowledged formal education had power to liberate people's thoughts, thus becoming uncontrollable. Education yields active thoughts and protest and revolt against wrong authorities since people who received conventional education are not stuck in a single idea. Also, when looking at developing countries, when people's fornal education levels are increased, nations develop in multidisciplnary aspects because freedom coming from such education leads people to become more novel and innovative.

Adimittedly, there are some examples where it seems like formal education restrains people's minds and spirits like in the case of Bill Gates. He was skeptical of formal education; thereby, dropped out of college. Nonetheless, formal education he received until then has to be recognized especially since he received more expensive education compared to others. Because he had a strong foundation in fundamentals in math and science, he was able to succeed as a CEO of and IT company. Therefore, a notion that formal education limits the scope of minds and spirits is not cogent.

All in all, through aforementioned reasons, formal education rather frees our minds and spirits and engenders more fruitful outcomes conducive to amelioration of a society.