Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research and development is important for the development of nations, betterment of world. Any restriction placed on research and development can hinder its advancement.

Goverenment policies in every nation are not updated frequently with the changing circumstances. In this case, any restriction placed on research in development can obstract its advancement in particular area. For example, many years back in China operations of alive humans or animals were not allowed. Doctors should not give cut to the body while treatement. At that time, segerions were developing in the world but doctors in China were affraid to adopt segerions, due to restrictions by govenment, which was hindering them treating patients who can be cured by surgery, and also restricting them to contribute by doing research in the medical field. Government in China took many years to change this policy, but other countries were already using segerions from long back. Thus, now days, technology is changing everyday, new researchs are being publish so frequenty nowdays then ten years back, but if we look at goverenment policies, its being updated every 10 to 15 years.

Government restrictions can hinder research in some particular feild. For example, if any country is in the favor of peace and put restictions on the development of nuclear power. Now scientists in that country may not work on explore more on nuclear power and its benefits. In this case, nuclear power development is hindered for that country.

There is a otherside of the coin also, if there is no restriction at all by the government, then research products can used to harm the society and ultimately can cause danger to human life. For example, North Korea is testing nuclear weapons racklessly, which is casing fear in the world.

Therefore, in conclusion, government need not to put restrictions on research and development, but need to make sure its results are for the welfare of the human kind.