Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

We are living in an era that is pacing up towards advancement. All the gadgets and services that we use are the result of scientific research. From booking cabs on the smart phone to travelling in space is a boon of research. Any sort of hinderance in the research process is only going serve to the hinder the advancement. What if the government had proscribed the creation of mobile phones? We would still be hitchhiking to get the taxi and going to our favourite resturant prior to make a reservation.

Researcher and scientist produce their best work when they are given full control and freedom for development. Although in some cases it may serve to damage the society. Oppenheimer's experiments and research with the nuclear processes led to the invention of the nuclear bomb. In spite of creating the devil, achieving nuclear fission on earth is still considered a remarkable achievement. Therefore, allowing freedom might not produce results which are always beneficial to the society but it helps us explore the possibilities and prepare for future.

Sacrifices are a necessity for advancement in research. Medical Sciences wouldn't have originated if it was for not providing freedom to the great Da Vinci. He used to dissect corpses to understand the structure of our body, It allowed us to understand the reason for illness and diseases and create cures for catastrophic diseases like small pox, malaria , dengue etc. Therefore, the key to advancement is to create a world where the scientists can do their weird experiments without any hinderance and the government has a major responsibility to ensure the same.

Testing new medicinal cures for cancer on animals is cost for reaching at the end of tunnel. Restriction on testing animals is good, but a cancer cure can change the life of millions of people suffering. Artificial Intelligence as mentioned by Elon musk can be lethal to the human kind , but just imagine about the possibilities it would open, with the right training of AI can be used to create building ,serve food and allow us to travel in a driver -less cab.

Cruel truth of human advancement is experimentation. Sometimes scientists with ulterior motives use the freedom for personal gain, but restricting their activities can deprive us of the quality of life we can achieve. therefore , sometimes maybe restrictions are necessary.

Scientific research and development is the necessary evil we need for improving our experience and achieve the the longing dream of sustainability.