The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The contribution of a person in certain field can be basically determined by what he has done for the progress of the area or by how well he has paved path so that his succesors can have easy control and further advancement on the sector. The prompt discusses that the success of an individual can be better determined by the people who are benifitted by his task rather than his co-workers. I strongly disagree with the prompt and provide two explanations for why contemporary people are connesiour for a person greatness.

First of all, people who are involved at that particular time and in the same work can have a good judgement of the success achieved in that field. They also do have an aboveboard experience of hurdles and hinderence and are competent to determine weather the outcome achieved can be called success or simply a possible result. For example, the achievement of a football player can best be judged by other footballers at that time not by the seniors nor by his juniors. There is always a debate about who the best player of history is and it is an absurd questions because time changes as well as situations. Also, the best player at that time can be determined by other players rather than common individual because they know what it takes to achieve that level and statistics.

Secondly, human have a subconsious mind that they ignorantly assume certain works good or bad on the basis of the information they have listened for a long period of time. If someone is called bad by family, relatives, community people then people automatically without having an interaction with the person consider him bad and the same goes for vice-versa sitation. These information may not be accurate and it might depend on the aspect from which the surrounding are looking for the work since each and every work have a positive and negative aspect. For example, Germans consider Hitler as one of their greatest leader because he made Germany developed and one of the most powerful country in a short period of time but the rest of the people, from other countries, at present time, have a negative impact of him as a martinent person. Thus people who live after decide on the basis of their current situation and have a greater chance of inaccurate decison of greatness of a person.

However, some people argue that a work can never be called great unless it benifits future genrations and long term achievement even after the person demise can be called successful. But the facts of the acquisitions can be distorted and credit often may go to wrong person. For example, Kublai Khan is considered as a great and intrepid emperor but these are all what the history says and the historians might have given their view that the people assumed as fact. His win might have been more dependent on his head of army and the credit is inadverdently given to the king who have sat in the throne. Such lionization by upcoming generations be more dependent on inveritable informations which never occurs in case of contemporary judgement.

Thus, in conclusion, people at the commensurate period and field are better judge of an outcome and the person who is responsible for producing the result.