The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I totally agree with the author's statement that the greatness of any individual can be decided after they pass and not by their contemporaries. The quality of a man and man's achievement can be measured only on his absence. Only when we come to know the great quality of a man during his absence, we will start to respect, adulate, grab aspiration. Hence, I believe that only ones absence can determine ones greatness.

There are several people whom do not exist but their greatness and their achievements are extant. Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, the great scientist of India, did so many achievements during his lifetime. In spite of poverty at home, he struggled to pursue in his field of interest, that is rocket science, and discovered many aspects in his field. Dr. Kalam is now no more, but his ideas, qualities, and his thoughts are still in our hearts. Students draw aspirations from this great person and and try to become one such great citizen like him.

One more example to depict here is greatness and quality of the great Buddha. Buddha, a philosopher, thinker, gave dictum to this world which even today is accepted by many social group and is followed. During his time, there were so many contemporaries who begrudged him, his style of thinking. His teacher himself did not like him as Buddha was having strong prescient knowledge and the finest quality of thinking. Many people during his time accepted the dictum made by Buddha an started following them. Even after his death, his retinue are numerous and his greatness is appreciated everywhere.

During twelfth century, Galaleo Galali, a German scientist, a philosopher stated that the earth is round and it rotates around the Sun. Many of his contemporaries disagreed with such statement and spoke against him. But after certain years his facts were proved to be the perfect. When contemporaries are asked to measure the greatness of an individual, then chances of finding the facts are more. But when an individual is not existing but his works are measured and appreciated. This discrepancy of not appreciating the greatness of a person and extolling him or her after they pass is existing in this world. This is a paradox, but it is inevitable to accept it.

Thus, in total, I totally believe that ones greatness and achievements are measures and given an applause only when the individual is not existing.