Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

mass media and the internet in today's world hold a great effect on the people perspective of thinking. The prompt recommends that the mass media and internet have decreased the time of people attention, which on other hand bolstered people to sort out for the important information with an overall positive effect. In my opinion, I disagree with the suggestion and argue that the media and internet has adverse effects on people thinking and understanding.

To begin, the authenticity of media and internet is questionable. In other words, the news presented by media and internet have the biased political or analytical thinking depending on the organisation that is publishing the news. For instance, in 2010 during the presidential election in United States, the google was accused for being biased. The google searches have resulted in the information providing against one of the candidate, thus polarizing the judgement of people. The above example illustrates that the authenticity of the information providers which is unknown will have an adverse effect over one's perspective. thus the mass media and the internet have negative effects.

Further, the mass media and internet today is seen as a profit making business Every television channel's motive is to increase the vieweship. Consequently, many channels are providing information that may be irrelevant or not useful. The debates conducted are of more cacophonous rather than information providing. Much of the information like environmental changes, economic changes have been supplanted by the money producing biased information like celebrity scandals, religious fights etc. thus the media with a motive of money making is exacerbating the credibility and the relevancy of the news telecasted.

Of course some argue that the information provided by the media or internet is helpful and educating. Yes, the media and internet can be a great medium to exchange the information. The information can be seen in positive way, depending upon the credibility of the news provider. thus, it can be seen taht the moral ethics and some stringnet rules on the news providers may yeild advantages, but as of today the medaia and internet are adversely effecting the peeple.