Mass media and the internet have caused people's attention span to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what's important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I completely agree with the assertion in the claim, that Mass media and the internet have caused people's attention span to get shorter. People have a habit to get information from multiple sources and use only that source or a part of information which looks authentic.

In earlier days let’s say in 1900 to 2000 the news channels and the newspapers are the only sources to update the knowledge about world. In those times only some certain news channels are in the business. For Example, in India DD News, DD Sahyadri, DD Sports and many other Door Darshan's channels are the major news channels along with some local news channels were only in the business. In those days these channels used to telecast updated news only at specific times in a day. So news hungry people managed there routine to see the news telecasts. Since news were getting updated at only particular times, the whole updated news took more than a day or day and half to reach to people. This has happened because very few people chose their career path in this news business. So lack of staff in news channels caused the delay in further processes. Also since shortage of staff and less interest in reporting people news channels were not able to gather data about news from different parts of society. So like to ask people's views about victory in the recent cricket match reporters just used to ask people who were present in the stadium. This seems logical because it was not possible at that time, to go in each and every area and ask about victory in the cricket match.

Now a day, the mass media and internet have caused a revolution in the news. Both of these are very much dependable on each other. Abundance of devices to capture the situation and platforms to expose it, increase in the number of reporters and number of news channels; all of these have definitely changed the earlier situation. Almost all of the news channels have their web sites and they are equally active on the internet as well as on the television reporting what is happening in mass media, bulletins etc. People do not have to wait for a specific time to watch news. The era of internet has solved that problem. Also there is a great staff response in each and every news channels, results into speeding up the news telecasting process.

Now a day, there are many android, windows and ios apps, which only give updates in the form of mass media as well bulletins. So a normal person can keep update about world time to time. Obviously this vast and variety of mass media and internet will not help people to focus on one thing. For example, business news channel will keep update of national, international businesses more than other news like sports or any crime in the city. Though there are many sources of mass media and internet their discreetness caused people to find what is important for them. The sports hungry people can search many past, present as well as future events about sports in a matter time.

This variety of information and discreetness in each news as well as responses recorded and posted on the internet can create confusion in people heads. Not for all news, but recordings and postings of controversial or critical information, will definitely cause confusion. For example, the 26th July rainfall damage in Mumbai will not cause in controversies because almost everyone has suffered from that damage, but the news like scams in government or the match fixing in the cricket created confusion in people head. This confusion arises because of the recordings or postings were not leading to same facts. So until an authentic action or actual legal inquiry recordings and postings were not published the people were in dilemma.

In sum, the mass media and internet have surely caused people's attention span to get shorter, by getting updates about various matters in the world in a matter of time. But people should also be aware before coming to any decision regarding the information they are obtaining from mass media and internet. The examples presented, have shown concern about the matter authenticity of data.