People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement raises a variety of issues about decision making and the conflict between emotion and logic. One school of thought postulates that justifying emotional decisions with logic does not guarantee a substantiated decision. Another school of thought posits that justifying with logic is reasonable because emotions are uncontrollable and disorient people. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the former for the following reasons.

The first thing that springs to mind is that justifying an emotionally based decision with logic, on an aftermath, reveals a lack of sincerity to oneself. To illustrate this, let us consider a woman that decides to move to the country where her spouse lives because she is emotionally attached to him, although this means losing her job. If the woman tries to justify her decision with logic, she will be trapped in finding reasons why she loves the man. This process might disturb her relationship. Thus, trying to justify with logic, after having made a decision based on emotions, not only makes the decision process more difficult, but also poisons human relationships.

Another issue I would like to focus on is that justifying with logic is fruitless on the grounds that some decisions are naturally based on emotions. A case in point would be the decision to get married, which is based on feelings of love and affection that cannot be supplanted by logic. Therefore, deciding to get married based on emotions is not a sign of poor decision making and should not be denounced.

Advocates of justifying with logic underscore that if people where solely based on emotions their lives would get disorganized. Few would disagree that emotional decisions might are not based on arguments and sound thoughts. However, even in these cases, justifying with logic afterwards is fruitless on the grounds that since the decision cannot be altered, the decision maker might become regretful.

In conclusion, deciding based on emotions should not be criminalized. Justifying emotional decisions with logic is fruitless for the above reasons.