People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Have we ever thought about which factor is greater in influencing our actions and behaviors? Are we more influenced by outside factors or internal factors? One might claim that human being behavior are mostly affected by their surroundings. While others refute this opinion and will claim that it is one’s determination and efforts that highly influence in doing certain actions. I do agree with the latter part, it is our own willingness that drives us to do certain kinds of behavior.

Internal forces are essential in initiating and maintaining our behaviors, while external forces are only important in influencing us. Societal factors such as family, friends, and neighbors do influence us to behave in certain kind, but at the end it is our willingness to implement those behaviors. Take for example of Malala Yousufzai, a female educational rights activist and youngest Nobel prize awardee. It is in fact true that her father, a teacher, reinforced her the importance of education at a very tender age, but it was her sheer determination that assisted her in standing against terrorist to fight for girls’ education. Is it possible that only her father’s high regard for education enabled her to protest for girls’ equal right for education and persisted that act despite being attacked by the terrorist group? It is unlikely, it was her sheer determination that enabled her to stand against the Mafia. It proves that external factors do influence in carrying behaviors but not more than internal factors.

One might argue that it’s the societal factors that enabled some leaders to certain actions. It is valid that if those factors were not there, leaders may not have acted in a certain way. Take for instance, Mahatma Gandhi, a freedom fighter of India. He was upset and frustrated with the discrimination and injustice that the people of India faced. As a result of the British ruler’s cruel treatment to Indian civilians, he started protesting against it. In this case, it is true to say that the main reason for the start of his behavior is the outside factor, injustice by the British government. However, it is also possible that just like other people he may have thought that it is not feasible to change the ruling of British government. It was his willingness, at the end, which influenced him to fight against British rulers for the injustice. Thus, it proves that the inside factors are the main factor that enables one to do certain actions.

In the end, both the internal and external forces influence individuals to behave in a certain way. However, the most powerful in both forces is the internal force. Internal forces allows one to take the necessary actions in time of turmulouns while having only external forces does not allow one to take strenuous actions in the difficult time.