Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives

As an educator, this topic is quite controversial to me.This topic is also aired in debatable show of Fox News channel. In this particular show Major scholars are against the person who believes that political leader must take the public opinion. Now one may ask why Major scholars do not assert the recommendations of the above person?. There are many reason but most notbaly that the level of political leader is depedendent upon his/her principles and objectives. If the people admires their principles and objectives then such leader will be selected as Member of legislature.Thus, i also disgree with recommendation of people who thinks that leader should abandon the priciples.

Firstly, i would like to point out that there are two types of people, one who gives suggestion for the development of the country where as others gives the suggestion for their own development.for more clarification, let us look at the example of Triple talak bill. as per this bill, a muslim man will not be allowed to divorce her wife by saying talak, talak, talak( which means divorce,divorce, divorce). If law minister takes the opinion from muslim board then such bill will not be able come in parliament.Thus, the foremost quality of the political leader is abililty to remain consistent.

Secondly, Political leader should creates a balance in taking the public opinion and remaining consistent to his/her principles.for more clearance, let us look at the example of Direct tax bill( Income tax) Political leader should ,before enforcing the bill into Act, takes the opinion of business leaders as well as service man/women, however it doesnot mean that leader makes the amendment according to their opinion. As some business leader may say to reduce the income tax rate or some may say to ease the tax system.Hence, this clearly shows that the opinion is self oriented and not country's development orriented.

In consluion,although abandon his/her principles is not totally wrong. equality is one of obvious resason, however, publice opinion is totally self oriented. As per Mahatama Gandhi, " Difference between leader and the leader is depends upon his/her principles,vision and mission."