Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

We start learning from the moment we are born. Most of our life goes through the hybrid method of institutional and informal learning. There are many things that free our minds. And one of the most important of them is formal education. It teaches the customs, values, challenges, and other people’s lives and sets our minds free.

When we start going to school, we meet children from different believes and socio-economic statuses. Before them, we are around our families and families with similar beliefs and social standards. But in school, we are learning not only to read and write, we are also learning that other believes and standards exist, and we are obliged to honor them. A 6 years old Muslim girl when first goes to a school, meets other children and finds out that Allah isn’t the only god that all the people believe in. Also, this child is taught to honor others’ beliefs no matter she has the same belief or not.

When we study history, culture, science, and literature, we get to know what is happening all over the world and what happened in the last millions of years. We learn the history of life on the earth and the history of the evolution of the cultures. Therefore, information about the progress of humankind comes to our knowledge. This enables us to think about what makes it possible to this enormous progress, and we also find the answer in the books we learn to read. And we learn to make a decision by analyzing what people did in the past with similar situations and what was the consequences.

Further, formal education lets us know about the current situations of cultures, science, and technology. We come to know about literature, innovations, music, art, and sports. We get access to a library in a building where we visit almost every day, the school. This information sets our minds free by enabling the right paths to take which we would love to take and where we are good at. Moreover, we see what other fellow students are doing and how they are getting success or failing. If a boy is good at art, he would find some other students who are good at art and how the decisions they made in life affected their life and progress in art. The schools are the most diverse place to find people of diverse expertise and interests.

Though there are some unexpected things happening with formal education. Like students are being said which paths should be taken in life whether they like it or not, sometimes killing the free mind of a youngster. But we have to remember it’s the pressure which is created by the society and the economic situation of the community, not by the schools. So, when the thinking ability of a child is being restricted in a school, it is the society that is to blame, for that instance, not the institutional education system.

Therefore we have to admit that by teaching about cultures, history, beliefs, science and religions, schools are setting the youngsters’ minds free.