Some people believe that society should try to save every plant and animal species, despite the expense to humans in effort, time, and financial well-being. Others believe that society need not make extraordinary efforts, especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

It is important to save the endangered plant and animal species by investing all our efforts. However some are of the opinion that convenient efforts should be made.

People who support saving endangered species without any financial restraints, believe that it is humans who are responsible for their fate and should do everything in their power to prevent total extinction of a species. They believe that animals offer a useful insight to evolutionary process. Studying their survival techniques (like camoflage exhibited by chameleon) and behaviour (like monogamy in penguins) have been vital in many fields. Most importantly different plant and animal species maintain the bio diversity necessary for ecological balance. Some of the plants are very useful for the fact that they synthesise chemicals that have medicinal value. In the unforeseen future, we can be affected by deadly diseases, whose cure may be found in some of these plants. Also, honey bees, that are now endangered play a paramount role in plant pollination. Their extinction could adversely effect the many food chains as the herbivores will suffer due to paucity of fruits.

Where as, people who do not support funding the protection of plant and animal species reason that these funds can be better utilised for humanitarian causes as people are dying due to lack of potable water and food. Some also argue on the lines of survival of the fittest. It is a natural process in which some of the species die as they cannot adapt to changing environment. The resilient ones survive. It is a process in nature that would occur, even if there was no human interference. Some cynics are of the view that no matter the extra ordinary efforts, we cannot save the planet from the damage already done. However, due to rising human population, animals have like lions and elephants, who prefer vast open spaces, have restricted to smaller forests that shrinking further. Oceans have been severely effected with oil leaks and plastic. Plastic has been found in the body of dead whales that are washed ashore. It is hard to ignore the fact that humans are playing an important part in their extinction.

All of the species combined have not had such negative impact on the ecosystem, as much as humans have. If we can not spend enough to save the diversity, we should at least switch to an eco friendly life style which impedes rate of the extinction of the remaining species.