Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Leaders believes that undestandings from the past makes future better.

Leaders analyses the past data to make better decisions. Past data helps to list out the pros and cons of a situation and yields a better decision than coming to a decision without the understaning of the past. This approach of undestaning the past helps in better decision making for the leaders.

Often leaders came across same problems in various fields and everytime it doesnot make sense to spend same amount of time in analysing the situation since they are trying to solve the same problem which was already solved, so they prefer to understand the past solution to the same problem and if the same soultion works best to their current prolem then they will implement the same solution or modified soultion of the same problem.This often saves a lot of time.

Eventhough it is important to understand from the past it is necessary to decide whether to procced with past solution to existing problem or to find new solution to the exisitng problem. It's upto the leaders to decide what is best for the current situation and sometimes it is better to ignore past understanding if that understaing does not yield as expected and if it makes the problem more complex and messy to solve and go for a new approach to solve the current issue.

Some times a dynamic decison making appraoch is followed by some leaders and they are more successful than others but the probaility of that approach is very less among the current leaders.

Ultimately leaders prefers to understand from the past before coming to a conlusion.