When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement refutes that historic buildings should give way to the development of modern society. However, I don’t agree with such views and strongly recommend that city planners should balance the development of the society and the preservation of historical relics.

Admittedly, the area which is occupied by historic buildings in cities seems to be wasteful if it is not developed for commercial purpose, such as commercial buildings and factories. With such modern facilities, more job opportunities will be created to attract people to work, thereby improving their living standards. In this way, the long term prosperity of our society can be more achievable. Otherwise, our society may lose its impetus to be economically affluent. Also, it can benefit the preservation of historic relics, as a plentiful society are more likely to invest more funds in preserving precious ancient buildings.

While it is true that contemporary buildings are crucial to the development of our world, it is equally important to remember that historic buildings have their own merits. For example, many ancient buildings have been developed for the purpose of tourism, which is a good way to exploit the value of such buildings. The operation of historic buildings as public attractions enable them to be self-funded or even contribute to the fiscal revenue of some cities, as tourists tend to be generous when visiting the tourist attractions. However, if the historic buildings are demolished, it will certainly affect the tourism industry in some places. In short, some historic buildings also have the ability to make a contribution to the economic development of the society if they are properly explored.

Moreover, the educational value of historic buildings should not be underestimated. For example, many primary and second school teachers will organise regular visit to some historic buildings in order to inform them the knowledge of history. Students who have the opportunity to acquire such knowledge are able to develop their imagination from the structures of these buildings. Also, through learning the architectural styles of these buildings, professional architects could implement some sophisticated skills into the construction of modern buildings. Hence, if ancient architectures are destroyed indiscriminately, the educational value of historic buildings will diminish dramatically and people may not be able to acquire their historic knowledge and related architectural skills.

In conclusion, the extreme opinion that historic buildings should give way to modern buildings need to be seriously reconsidered when making the decision about whether to raze a historic building for commercial purpose, as historic relics have their own commercial and educational merits.