By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilt of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Murdering someone is an unpardonable crime. It was punishable by death everywhere in the world before human rights organizations began criticizing capital punishment. According to them, a state has no right to take someone’s life even if the perpetrator is a murderer. Influenced by their campaigns, a large number of countries in Europe and elsewhere have banned capital punishment, calling it inhumane.

As far as my opinion is concerned, murder must be punishable by death no matter what because murderers do not deserve leniency of any sort. Besides, capital punishment is the only punishment that can prevent violent people from murdering other humans. Every human being fears death. If a criminal-minded person knows that killing someone will result in execution, he or she will think twice before committing this horrible act. This is the reason that murders are few and far between in those countries where capital punishment is still in force.

Some believe that murderers can be put in prison for the rest of their life instead of being executed. Nevertheless, life imprisonment could be harsher than capital punishment keeping in mind the deteriorating conditions of most of prisons across the world. Recent surveys reveal that physical and mental abuse, loneliness, sexual harassment and humiliation in prisons change the majority of detainees into mentally sick humans that are potentially dangerous to society. What if they absconded? They would unleash brutalities on law-abiding citizens.

Moreover, taxpayers don’t want their money to be used for feeding murders in prisons. They have committed the worst of the crimes and they should pay for it. A famous proverb goes: you have made your bed, now lie in it. Murderers must be punished accordingly and capital punishment is the appropriate punishment practiced effectively throughout human history.