In the future, it seems more difficult to live on the Earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching other planet to live, such as Mars. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, many people accept the fact that our planet is not a place for us to live eternally. Therefore, solutions for this issue have aroused considerable public debate. Although the idea of discovering the second Earth seems plausible, its merits do not justify the downsides.

There is no denying that our living habitat becomes more unsustainable. First, since the urban expansion and industrialization have been ubiquitous, huge plots of wild forests around the world have been cleared up for human purposes such as planting crops, raising livestock or mining, severely compromising the natural environment. Consequently, a sheer volume of carbon and chemical toxic are released into the air, which leads to the global warming and poses serious hazard to the human and other species. Second, overexploitation is also to blame for the depletion of natural resources, such as fossil fuels. That means, in the future, these essential elements will be no longer able to maintain production and transportation.

However, I would argue that the programs seeking new planet to survive is meaningless due to some compelling reasons below. First, a vast amount of funding is required to finance space projects with no guarantee. In fact, beside the exorbitant cost for conducting research, the salaries and wages paid for astronomers and universe science are proved to be the highest among industries, which would cause financial burdens to the national budget deficits. Second, plenty of scientific evidence suggest that the chance of discovering the Earth-like planet is extremely slender, and even if humans succeeded, bringing humans there would be out of question. In fact, the nearest planet takes us millions of years to reach, by which time, human would no longer survive. Therefore, solving the current environmental problems appears more realistic, for example, climate change and recycle energy alike, since they are the factors affecting directly all creatures on our green shelter.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that finding extraterrestrial life is not a promising solution for the issues we are facing, costing a hefty amount of money but will offer little returns. To make our planet friendlier to live in, money and efforts should be concentrated on tackling current problems.