It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, It is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether being born in natural talents or training is more important in sport or music remains controversial. Some people think that there are some children who are born with certain talents while others argue that children can study hard daily to have professional skills in sport or music. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and provide my view on this problem.

First, there is no doubt that education systems are based on the belief that all children can study effectively to acquire different skills, including those associated with sport and music. That explains why all schools have guide practice and teaching classes, and parents send their kids to music classes or sports clubs at a very young age.

However, some people claim that being good at sport or music cannot be obtained by training, no matter how good the teachers or how frequently a child practices. They maintain that if sport and music skills can be studied by only training, all people in the world will be able to play sport or an instrument professionally. Besides, according to a survey, there are only one over ten people who can play an instrument such as piano or guitar although they have tried to study for at least five years.

I, personally, think that one person will succeed if she or he is laborious and persistence. On the other hand, talents can give individuals a facility for specific skills that allow them to excel, while more hard-working people never manage to reach a comparable level. However, as will all questions of nature versus nurture, they are not manually exclusive. Good musicians or exceptional sports stars have probably succeeded because of both natural talents and functional training. Without talents, training would be neither effective or productive; and also with training, children can not know how to develop their talents.

To sum up, I agree that children can be taught particular skills, but to be professional in some areas like sport or music, they need some natural talents.