It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Punishment is a well-known way which many parents use to teach their child. People argued that in children's early age, punishment is an appropriate method to help kids distinct the right and the wrong. I completely agree with this opinion.

To begin with, punishment could help children remember what action is right or wrong easier. In early age, children are new to the world and their perspective are still under development. Their actions are mostly carefree. As a result, they cannot identify one action is correct or not. A punishment would act as a condition to children's immature mind. When kids do somethings wrong for the first time and being punished, the next time they about to repeat the action, the memory would come to them and perhaps make them stop. As children understand more and more, they will soon realize the concept of wrong behaviors.

In addition, punishment could act as a marker of right and wrong. The existence of punishment itself differentiate right and wrong. If you do something wrong, a punishment would be ahead and if you have good behaviors, there would be no punishment. This simplified concept is easy for child to understand since they have punishment to separate right from wrong in the first place. Punishment usually make children uncomfortable and sometimes afraid. In Asia, many family applied physical punishment, however I believe a light punishment such as cannot play their favorite toys or watch cartoon is much more suitable.

My conclusion is therefore that punishment is not enjoyable for both parent and child, in practice I believe it would be effective in helping kids to understand right or wrong.