Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

People have different views about whether it is beneficial for a person to live in a country where the indigenous people talk in another language than his own mother tongue or not. While some argue that there are a lot of pros for staying in a place with a different language. I believe that if a person is compelled to implement a foreign language, he not only will suffer enormous issues in his interpersonal relationships, but also encounters several frustrating problems in practice.

First, a foreigner cannot communicate well with native citizens. This fact makes it unwieldy for him to find friends which might be, by itself, an essential instrument in handling various problems abroad. For example, when I was in university, passing my undergraduate studies, there was a foreign student who was not speaking our language well, although she made a lot of endeavor. She always commuted to the university alone, spent leisure time in person, and did homework on her own. Many times she forgot to do a homework or did it wrong because she had not any friend to check with if she is correct about the homework she was to do. Therefore, when you cannot speak a country's language well, then you might not make several friends, and, as a result, encounter problems to handle your regular works.

Next, not knowing a country's language may waste a foreigner's time. When someone goes to another country to live, he usually chooses that place either to work or to study. In both cases, although there might be a higher income, but a person will be under time pressure be it by his boss or by his professor. Using foreign language, not only may routine activities take longer to be done, but you may also be inclined to opt different paths to perform tasks that usual people do them quickly. For instance, my foreign friend at university had chosen to prepare herself for a very hard exam by reading several sophisticated reference books, whereas the majority of the class were using audio podcasts of the class, thereby getting ready for the test in a very short period. The reason why she selected that method of preparation was that she was not so strong in listening skill than she was in reading. The outcome was nothing except a lower grade for her since she could not cover all the chapters of the course, while other classmates not only covered all chapters, but had sufficient time also to review the materials again and again. Hence, to live in an environment where you have to speak a foreign language wastes your time.

Finally, staying in a place that you are to speak in another language is not economic. In a lot of cases, you may be forced to pay more for a simple service that natives pay usually less. To be more specific, I should allude to one of my previous peregrinations to India. Even though it was a short stay, but the experience can be generalized to the main case of this essay. While I was familiar with English to handle normal situations, once I encountered a taxi driver who was not speaking English well, so he did not understood the address of my destination. As a result, I got forced to pay him the full fare, and trying to take another cab to get to my hotel. Based on this, when you are not familiar with a society, speaking other languages may waste your money.

In conclusion, although some claim that it is lucrative to live in another country speaking their language, I personally prefer not to do that because it will not be such convenient neither socially nor practically.