Over the past fifty years, international sports events such as the Olympic Games and world cup competitions have played an increasingly important role in our society. However, many people think such events are an enormous waste of money, time and effort.

The expenditure spent on the harboring the international sports events such as Olympics is considered wasting money, even though some individuals believe that organizing such affairs has many benefits for the countrymen in a long-term perspective. Both points of views will be analyzed in this argument before the reasoned conclusion is found.

It is argued that the expenses incurred by the hosting nation are a huge amount of money which can be spent instead on the development. It is shown in the study conducted by the planning commission in India that billions of dollars used in the promotional events for the Olympics. If this money saved, it will fund a large health project. Also, during the organizing period, all the machinery state gets diverted into the event, and the important tasks take a back a seat. Therefore, it is assumed that all the international events are unproductive expenditure on the exchequer.

On the other hand, the productivity of these events can't be gauged in one profit-loss equation. It should take into consideration the long-term factors such as boost the tourism and improvement of the ties between the participating nations. It was noticed that there is increase 40 % in the tourism in the United Kingdom after the Olympic Games which lead to increase in the revenue thereafter. Moreover, these events encourage the countrymen to participate in such constructive activities and endeavor for the pride of their country.

From the previous analysis, it is shown that the benefits from hosting the international sports events outweigh the expenses incurred. These events increase the influx of tourist so increase the income of the country. In addition, improve the foreign policy of the hosting country.