Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer

nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the

responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their

citizens themselves?

A nation’s wealth is primarily driven by the people in the form of GDP. A wealthy nation accumulated wealth either by abundant stores of natural resources or by setting up industries, business that amass vast wealth for the growth of the nation. The question raised by the author whether rich nations should share their wealth with poor nations or look after them by providing basic food and education should be decided by the government of wealthy nation purely on the wish of the citizens of the nation. As mentioned above, a country’s GDP is driven by every hardworking citizen, so whether to share their hard-earned money or provide basic amenities or completely nothing should be a collective peoples and peoples chosen government representative’s decision.

However, the idea of sharing the wealth could be extremely unacceptable. It not hurts the sentiments of people coming from wealthy nation but it could also hurt the self esteem of the people from the wealthy nation. As a citizen it would not be acceptable to me to share the wealth of my country collected from citizens like me in form of tax are given in form of donation to other country. A better option could be that the wealthy nations can offer business relations with the poorer country or the poorer countries can take a first step to approach wealthy nation to build business relations with such countries. The government of the poor nations must look at speciality of their country. It could be in the form of tourism , in the form natural resources, skills of the citizens, etc. In such way not only will it strengthen their economy, but also provide better employment opportunities and a better lifestyle to its citizens. An overall growth in economy can help in various sectors such as better healthcare, education, tourism, business, etc.

There also could be an instance where the the wealthy nations share a part their wealth to the poorer countries on humanitarian basis so that government can provide its citizens standard amenities but the government could be misusing it. There could be high possibility that instead of doing betterment of their citizens the government could be investing or funding terrorist organizations, lending them support and assurance. In a scenario like this showing empathy on humanitarian grounds could backfire and give rise to terror and hinder world peace

In order to support my stance, I firmly disagree with the suggestion of giving away hard earned wealth for free even on humanitarian basis. It should ideally be acceptable only for once if the country has just hit a huge human or natural crisis or given the situation of the current pandemic. Providing on regular basis wont only make the citizens of poor nation lazy but such nations could also turn out to be ungrateful. As the saying goes “There is no elevator for success, You have to take the ladder’.