In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Nowadays, it seems like people in developed countries are gaining weight more than the average rate and the level of their health and fitness are at risk. I believe modern life has a giant impact on this issue and my reasons are as follows.

Firstly, unfortunately it is clear that living in an industrial era made us become robots. Since Modern life brought many jobs to the desks and offices, it entails much more working hours without any significant movements. People gradually became more occupied and busy with making money in order to live a convenient life and this caused them to devote less time to any other activities such as working out and even eating healthy. Secondly, when a body has no movement and there is no endorphin and adrenaline releasing, Mental health will be at risk and the person is going to feel depressed more so ever. Depression also can lead to consuming fast food and junk food to excess and therefore, people will gain weight more and more.

I believe that it is vitally important for the governments to provide gyms at big offices or even distribute sport tickets and bonuses for employees all over the country. Also I contend that social media plays an important role in everyone’s lives these days, and advertisement has a big impact on individuals. Therefore, I think governments should come up with ideas to encourage people to eat healthy food and join in more activities.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that I believe modern life despite all the salient effects have had on our everyday lives, is also leading us to depression and while that can cause some serious and dangerous difficulties for both body and mental health, I think it demands out further consideration.