Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people believe that the best way to solve traffic jams and city pollution is to increase the petrol cost. As I think there would be another essential measures affecting on these problems such as developing public transportation, I partially agree with increasing the price of gasoline. My reasons on this are as follows.

First of all, I think that rising the cost of petrol is actually a salient solution for solving the growing traffic and air pollution as well. This can lead people to start spending less money to fuel their personal cars and encourages them to use public services more so ever. For instance, if the monthly spending money on gas for a person is triple as high as metro and buses tickets, I think people would gradually cease using their cars for everyday usage in order to save more money.

Admittedly, this matter would raise the need of public transportation. When governments decide to increase the price of petrol, they should consider that poor public services are not going to be able to answer the needs of society members. The municipality should come up with a plan to develop these services in every measures. Easy access all over the city is needed as well. For example, if I can not find a bus stop near my house that can get me to my work easily, how am I going to be convinced to stop using my own car?

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that I am agreed with rising petrol cost in order to decrease the traffic jams and pollution but I think it is only effective when other measures are considered too.