Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

It is believed by some people that information should be provided freely as much as possible, for everyone to access. Others believe that some information are too valuable that being shared freely should not be allowed. This paper will discuss both sides of the topic.

Knowledge should be accessible for everyone despite their social status. It is believed that information should be shared freely to help others gain the same knowledge. People who do not have enough resources to learn should be given a chance to acquire knowledge as much as rich people do. Also, for example research papers on particular topic that is shared online, could pave ways for other people not only to learn, but also continue to do further researches or studies. This could trigger a debatable topic, and thus, enrich the community with superior knowledge.

However, everything entirely free would not be beneficial towards the publishers or researchers. Publishers should at least be acknowledged or credited for their work as it is something which requires a lot of time and effort. Fortunately, there are websites which offer paid subscriptions to users where information; such as papers, are offered freely once subscribed. This is very beneficial to publishers as they could gain royalties when someone access their work. Many universities have already signed up for these websites for their students to use with no payment charged.

In conclusion, every individual should have the rights to access knowledge equally. This could enrich the society by helping each other gain more knowledge. However, publishers should also be credited for their work as it requires a lot of time to write a single paper.