Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a widespread agreement that different offenders have to be imposed particular penalties while some others show a contrast idea that offering punishments also requires considering many factors relating to the background of specific cases. Both viewpoints have its own advantages and are in need to ensure the social equality.

First of all, in each countries, laws are imposed by legislators after under scrutiny with a great deal of personnel and government for a long time. The designated punishments for each type of crime provide the yardstick for judges to sentence and avoid partiality. Therefore, it not only helps the court proceedings faster but also reduce the amount of judicial lapses and injustice trials. In addition, inflicting predetermined penalties can raise the citizens' ethical discretion as well as deter them from breaking laws.

On the other hand, it is undoubtedly necessary to put into consideration case-by-case before any final undertakings. It is of paramount importance to further investigate the criminal's circumstances which comprise their motives of committing illegal activities. It proves for the flexibility of law. For instance, there would be the extenuating punitive actions for offenders with psychological problems, mentally ill syndromes. Furthermore, altruism should be put on delinquencies for educational purposes rather than chastening. By any way, equality is the most critical criteria and need pondering in the uppermost priority in enforcing laws processes.

Having manifest through the aforementioned ideas, both sides supply the complementary roles in justice sentence and guarantee the social equality. Nevertheless, the court had better do their utmost to take individual cases into account to execute the most congruous penalties.