Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The question of whether or not children are obliged to get involved in community service as school programmes are very topical today because its benefits are hard to quantify exactly. It seems to me that sending students to work in community service might provide them many valuable skills and knowledge, and I will elucidate why in this essay.

Firstly, students would gain experience and exercise skills by supporting volunteerism. In fact, most of the young children have a little social experience, as they spend much of their time at school. If children took part in community service, they would have an opportunity to encounter people from all social background, leading to enhancing interpersonal skills and solving problems which are beneficial for their performance in the future. A second positive factor is the development of young students' motivation to help others and serve the interest of others without reward. Children would witness at first hand the poverty that exists outside, resulting in feeling sympathy for those who suffer hardship. As a consequence, children might incline to help others without asking for payment and uphold a sense of community.

I accept there are some drawbacks of this programmes, most notably time children need to handle their homework and studies every day due to the fact that most schools require a full-time job. Addition, the schools should propagate the meaningfulness of the local community before enforcing a policy, ensuring the willingness among students. Despite this, it seems that for many high school students, these restrictions are overweighed by programmes' benefits.

To conclusion, the advantages of gaining interpersonal skills and rebuilding the cohesive among members of the community combine together to make student better preparation for future public life. I hope this programme will be put into action for high school/ colleges shortly