Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are two different point of view regarding acquiring a second tongue. On the one hand, some people argue that second language is learnt to facilitate travel and increase the opportunity for finding an occupation in a foreign region. On the other hand, some others believe that there are other reasons and factors which lead people to make an effort to speak a foreign language. In this essay both of this view shall be elaborated and finally I will present my view.

Since many people tend to learn language of a country in which standard of living, job opportunities and study positions are higher, such as English which is communication tool in most powerful countries, US and UK to name a few, it illustrate that travel and work are the only pull factors. In fact, language domination is based on economy and stability of the country or countries that the dominate language is spoken in. To certify this claim, chinese has become increasingly popular among young people as china has grown exponentially over the past few decades and thus the new generation are paying more attention to golden opportunities in that flourishing country by learning its language.

There are, however, other less tangible evidences for learning a language as well. A second language provides an individual with a second mind and broader viewpoints. To better explain this, bilingual and trilingual people are usually more successful than monolingual people and usually are employed in senior positions in reputable international organizations. As a result, these days youngsters are urged to start learning a language except their mother tongues in order to have higher chance later on.

In addition, the World Wide Web (WWW), which has turned whole world into so-called global village, has further played its role as an encouragement of learning a foreign language. In fact, useful communication and beneficial research through the net require a second language, especially English, for non-English speaking nations.

In conclusion, I believe work and travel used to be essential reasons for learning a second language. However, there are other factors, such as getting a higher qualification and the Internet use that has intensified this trend.