Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

In the recent days, with the development of technology, student in the universities are able to study through the Internet the courses which their school offers. In my opinion, this phenomenon has both advantages and disadvantages.

There is a variety of benefits of allowing learners to study online. The first one is that it enables student to have flexible time to learn which is much more comfortable than following particular schedule at school. Secondly, a lot of time could be saved as learners do not need to commute to school as well as prepare clothes . For example, If they studied offline, they must get up about 30 minutes or 1 hour earlier to eat breakfast, iron clothes and get dress while studying on the Internet, individuals only need to login and join the classes.

However, this phenomenon also leading to some drawbacks. The primary matter is that it requires the independence and persistence of learners. This is because, while studying online, they are out of control of their teachers, hence there are many distractions which disturb our focus such as social media, games, therefore decreasing the efficiency of learning. Moreover, smart phones, laptops or computer are essential devices when studying online, but it only suitable for the family who have descend salary and the prosperous. For example, when the covid pandemic broke out, all student had to learn online to prevent the spread of corona virus, however, according to the daily news, many family suffered from difficulties as they can not afford to buy smart devices for their kids.

In conclusion, I believe that offering online courses for student is beneficial because it not only saves time but also provide student the flexibility schedule, however, there are also the disadvantages since learners are easy to distract and those who do not live in good condition are unable to buy equipment.