In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with

other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes

the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The trend of senior citizens living in an old age home has been accelerated owing to less family time, same age group people in retirement homes and, also better medical assistance. A matter of concern is who should bear the expenses of aging people? In my opinion, it should be the obligation of the children to provide monetary funds, to support their parents, but if they are not economically strong, they could seek government aid.

It is the moral duty of the adult children to give financial resources for their elderly parents. Firstly, people should bear the expenditure of their parents out of love and gratitude. Their parents have not only raised them, but they have also made many sacrifices for them. Secondly, with increasing work pressure than ever before, parents care has become secondary, but children owe same dedication to their parents, as their parents demonstrated towards them. Otherwise, this will disparage the value of parenting. To illustrate, numerous couples are childless, as they believe that instead of spending on bringing up a child, who may abandon them in the future, they can enjoy till old age with the same amount.

Finally, children should never forget that by helping their parents, they are being exemplary to their younger generations. For Instance, the latest survey of families indicates that youngsters incorporate 60% of their thoughts from their families. However, people should also realize that in this self-indulging era, they should always have huge savings, which can be used in their time of need. Nevertheless, the government should provide economic support to aged people, if they do not have any savings or back up.

In conclusion, it is essential for every individual should provide monetary help to his parents to the best of his ability.